Fountain pen review ~ Pilot Custom 74

The Doctor's Scrawl
8 min readMay 28, 2021

--

Now, It’s not like the Pilot Custom 74 doesn’t have enough reviews out there but I thought since this is my first review on this blog I’d go with something easy and with a product I’ve now been using for about 4 months (yes, I am a baby to the fountain pen world.)

The Pilot Custom 74 pictured above is my own, inked with Montegrappa violet ink — an ink I like very much. This is a very popular pen, so I’m not going to waste text on basic features, measurements, size comparisons and other aspects of the pen you can easily find in YouTube videos by other content creators. I want to give you my personal thoughts.

In this review, I’ll go over my favorite features of this pen and what I don’t like. I’ll picture some writing samples with different inks, to give you a feel for how it handles various types of ink. In summary, I’ll discuss why this pen is in my collection and whether this pen is truly worthy of being a GP’s pen!

Pros

For most people, this (as well as the Platinum Century 3776) will be their entry into “gold nib” pens. It was for me. I bought the Pilot Custom 74 Black Smoke model in a Fine nib and it’s been great to write with so far.

Personally, I love a handsome nib, so the engraved pattern and attention to detail on this fairly low cost 14K gold nib fountain pen is a huge plus!

The plastic feed on my pen looks a little off-black-blue color too — I do not know if this is just my pen, a feature of this model, just ink staining on the feed or all Pilot Custom 74’s but for me this is a little bonus to sweeten the deal. I didn’t expect this when I bought the pen, so when I noted it, I smiled.

One thing I did appreciate, especially since this is one of my first five fountains, is that it came with the cartridge convertor. At the time I actually wanted to buy the Platinum Century 3776, but it didn’t come with a convertor and everywhere I looked the damned things were out of stock! So, I went with this. I do not regret it.

Overall, I like the simplistic and demonstrator look of this plastic pen, I like the way the ink swishes around in it. I often sit in between patients playing with it, killing time or mulling over a complex case. The simple design hopefully also means no one will steal it off my desk! It looks like any old boring plastic pen, but the cap, unbeknown to anyone else, hides this lovely nib surprise.

Cons

This is an entry level gold nib pen after all. It’s not going to have all the bells and whistles as more expensive Pelikan or Visconti pens. I have to keep reminding myself of this.

The cartridge convertor, although easy enough to use (watch this video from Brian at Goulet Pens) does have a fairly small ink capacity. Bare in the mind that most of my pen use these days is signing scripts and doing relatively short paperwork, so it’s ok for me, but on a ward? Maybe not.

This is not a smooooth write. I can’t decide if it’s just “feedback” or if it’s actually “scratchy” on the page. Again, as doctors, we are not writing on quality paper. It’s crappy copy paper for the most part, so it has to perform well on this no matter how well it performs on Rhodia or Tomoe River paper.

I feel like due to this combination of bad paper and feedback-y writing, I’m delicate with the nib and my writing. Very very occasionally, I’ve had hard starts, especially when fast writing (signatures) or if ink is getting low, but this is rare.

Three smaller issues; first 2 issues — twist top and the clip. Again, for me at my desk, the twist top is no big deal, in fact I like it. Gives my writing/signing a flare and personal touch to my desk/office that I enjoy (and my patient’s comment too, when they notice/like it). On a ward? Maybe not. If you’ve ever been on a ward, or if you’re a junior doctor rushing around with piles of paper notes in your hands, scrambling to write/sign things as your consultant rushes around patients because he’s got to be somewhere far more important, then a 2-handed pen opening procedure is not fitting. Third small issue; the nib and clip do not line up when closing the cap. This is clearly visible through the translucent cap.

This is also the issue with the clip. It’s very tough. I can’t get it onto my shirt without a 2-handed procedure holding the shirt taut. I use a crab pen holder from Ahnitol Japan on my desk, so it doesn’t affect me.

Final issue, and this really cheesed me off! The cleaning process. Most of the pen is easy to clean. Brian Goulet even has a video on removing the cap insert to help with cleaning too but my biggest issue is the ink in the section! This is driving me crazy! Videos my sbrebrown and Ray Bookman show how to dismantle the pen and eventually this damned problem can be fixed, but mine is so jammed in it doesn’t even allow me to take out the nib collar. The plastic feed and nib just slide out leaving everything else inaccessible and impossible to clean. No matter how much I twist and shake and fiddle with the convertor, nope that nib collar ain’t budging. And there’s no way the section is twisting off its threads.

This means I permanently have ink in the section. Although I don’t think this interferes with the overall color when I change inks, it’s stuck in there. It’s dirty and every time I try and clean the collar, I get this rust ring of old cruddy ink on the tissue paper. Like a GP that’s left the rust ring after removing a corneal foreign body! bad, bad, bad! I imagine this will do some sort of damage to the pen in the long run, especially when it’s sitting in my drawer after it goes out of daily circulation (I’ve just ordered a Conklin Duragraph Matteblack/Rainbow in a fine nib). I’m just now left to wait as it may erode or discolor or clog something up, especially since I love using shimmering inks! I’ll never be able to sell it on because of this and only time will tell how wrecked it’ll be years down the line.

writing samples

Left: 90gsm copy paper. Right: Clairefontaine 90gsm paper. Sorry, I realized afterwards that I shouldn’t advertise my signature!
Can’t really appreciate the shimmer but it’s there!

I really like how this pen lays down ink. Its smooth (depending on the paper) and even on crappy copy paper the line thickness (although thicker than on the Clairefontaine paper) is still a nice fine line. It has just enough shimmer to be noticeable, once you tell people it’s shimmering ink and you get it in just the right light! It’s definitely not something people notice on their own. On the whole is does lay down a nice line where shading can be easily appreciated (even as a fine nib.) It has smooth reverse writing and minimal hard starts and copes well with fast writing too, albeit feels even scratchier than usual. It doesn’t really have a “sweet spot” issue for me, I can hold the pen however and it’ll write no problems.

All my inks dry fast on the page, which is what I’d expect as less ink is deposited on the page with a fine nib. It’s even faster to dry on crappy copy paper, so minimal smudging when I’m writing notes or signing. Nicer paper definitely means nicer pen (and ink) performance overall though, but I’m not rich enough to be putting sheets of Rhodia or Tomoe River paper into my patient files whenever I write!

Why is this pen in my collection?

I like this pen. I’m very happy I got this “STAT”. This pen has some unique features which I love in my collection. It fairly priced, It has a beautiful nib and the feed is interesting and different. It’s low key and can sit on my desk and not attract unwanted attention. It lays down ink nice, doesn’t smudge often and dries fast and there’s enough ink properties showing through to make me appreciate the ink and pen more. All these features make me glad I have it and glad I use it daily.

Is this a pen fit for a GP?

Yes, most certainly. If you are office based and don’t care about pen maintenance! The minor set backs of this pen don’t affect daily use but I’m worried about it’s longevity and the delicate hand it needs to be used with. Like with all fountain pens, it allows for a more personalized approach to your day and that’s great but there are definitely nicer pens out there if all you want is personalization (without it getting stolen.)

It’s not so flash if you’re a GP whose out and about. If you do ward time or home visits or need quick ready access to your pen.

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this long term. I wish this section cleaning issue could be sorted and not have to rely on “community hacks.” This is definitely a starter pen, get it, use it, see how long it lasts. It’ll be great and very enjoyable while it does.

18/6/21 update: The damned convertor leaked inside the pen! I have absolutely no idea how this happened. I keep the pen in a pen case, nib up, never shake or drop the thing/bag, the convertor isn’t loose and it’s otherwise writing fine. I just noticed the ink was in the whole barrel rather than just in the convertor. Opened up the barrel and boom, ink everywhere. Stupid thing! I hate this pen, but I still like writing with it. I still use it EVERYDAY! This is NOT a doctor’s pen…

Thanks so much for reading and remember no matter who you are, “first, do no harm.”

--

--

The Doctor's Scrawl

An Australian GP with a love for fountain pens, writing, gaming and gardening, throwing in an occasional rant along the way!